Check out our AirBnB, Google, and Book-a-Bach reviews, and evaluations from our Facebook page, listed below ....

and keep updated with the latest news, promotions, and events at Masters Hall., when you follow us on Facebook!

 

Morgan ***** (Google review written in May 2019, for stay 29th - 31st March, 2019)

We got married at Masters Hall on 30/03/2019. The owners of the Venue, Cathy and Andy were phenomenal throughout the whole planning process. We were organising the wedding remotely (from Auckland) which would have been exceptionally stressful but Cathy made the process easy. She has a great range of wedding decorations which we were able to use. The venue looked beautiful and all of our guests commented on the great location and vibe. The best part about Masters Hall is that there was enough room for all our guests to stay, and for us to get ready on the day. Everybody that stayed couldn't believe how comfortable the beds and pillows were, especially because the cost of staying is so reasonable! I would absolutely recommend Masters Hall as a great Venue for your Wedding, or actually for any kind of get together, conference or family gathering. Thanks Masters Hall for making our day unbelievably special. From Morgan & Courtney Keightley-Moore xx

Trenton ***** 30th - 31st May, 2019

Very spacious in the Maternity Ward. Was able to relax and get some work done with the WiFi. Thanks!

Emma ***** 8th - 10th May, 2019

I loved this spot! I had a whole wing of the hospital to myself, which included kitchen, bathroom and living room. My bed was very comfortable, everything was clean & Cathy and Andy were very lovely and welcoming, whilst also allowing the guest space. Would for sure recommend :)

Kate ***** 26th - 28th April, 2019

A great place for a large group, especially if you can use the Masters’ Hall kitchen and dining room. Lots of room and a fantastic kitchen. The Nurses’ Quarters are also comfortable and accommodated our group of 11 comfortably - a bit of a squeeze but nice. Clean rooms with comfortable beds and bedding. Place is still very institutional, but Cathy and Andy are very relaxed and helpful, and if you just want a lot of private rooms and a place to eat together it is a great option.

Billy ***** 23rd - 24th April, 2019

A lovely big space and Cathy's a great host. Thanks for having me! It's a great place

Deborah ***** 19th - 20th April, 2019

Interesting place. Slept comfortably in the maternity ward - ha!

John ***** 16th - 17th April, 2019

Cathy's place is a gem; loads of space, everything you would need for a home away from home. Its the second time I've stayed and have found Cathy to be a great host.

Yum ***** 2nd - 4th March, 2019

Nice place in a quiet location. Cathy and Andy are very friendly. However the room was not very clean we would recommend to stay and visit this old hospital

Graham ***** 23rd - 24th February, 2019

Would highly recommend and would definitely stay again. Cathy went above and beyond to accommodate our late arrival.

Paul ***** 22nd - 23rd February, 2019

If you want an unusual place to tell your friends in an excellent location and have peace and quiet, then this is just the place for you. Ideal for large groups or people with families. Very good value for money.

Sean ***** 21st - 22nd February, 2019

I had a whole wing of this old hospital to myself and the use of a TV lounge, large kitchen and well-equipped bathrooms and showers. Cathy & Andy were very welcoming and happy for me to check-out late so I do some work before leaving. Excellent wifi signal - thoroughly recommended.

Tess ***** 20th - 21st Feb, 2019

Had a private room in this historic hospital for one night, facilities included a private sitting room. Had a lovely nights sleep and a hot shower in the morning.

Joy ***** 9th - 11th February, 2019

Amazing alternative to the usual motel room/complex. Enjoyed a weekend stay here recently. We stayed in a ward by ourselves (Cathy said they don't rent any of the rooms to anyone else when one party has booked it) and it was a treat to be able to choose from the multitudes of beds/rooms and have a large space to ourselves, escaping the heat and enjoying the through breeze in the day room. Would definitely stay again.

Jennifer ***** 12th -14th January, 2019

Good value. Everything we needed thanks.

Graham **** 3rd January, 2018

Was just what I needed.

Colleen ***** 2nd - 4th January, 2019

Excellent for groups travelling or families. Quiet, safe, lots of room and interesting.

Shanshan ***** 27th December, 2018

Quiet and clean place. It's good to stay.

James ***** 8th November, 2018

Stayed here while on business. thought it would be a bit different and cool. Exactly that!. Really enjoyed my stay. Very comfortable and quiet. The hosts are terrific and Pahiatua is a really nice spot and only 30 mins from Palmerston north. Highly recommended if you are looking for something a little different.

Sarah ***** 4th November, 2018

Awesome place, very clean and comfortable, highly recommend.

Charles ***** 29th - 31st October

An interesting place to stay. Every thing you need

John ***** 26th October, 2018

Although this facility will be great for large groups such as families, clubs and sports teams sharing facilities, Cathy takes the privacy of other visitors travellers seriously. She goes out of her way to ensure other guests are not disturbed. Its a unique place. I stayed in Ward One; own room, sole occupant of the ward, warm, comfortable queen size bed, full of hospital character, clean, delightful. I will be back!

Dugald ***** 24th October, 2018

A relaxed place

Anna *****5th-7th October, 2018

Great space, value and amazingly hospitable host

Rosalind***** 22nd September, 2018

This is a special place, lovely history around the old hospital and grounds. Cathy was ready for me when I arrived and explained everything very thoroughly. She then took me on a tour of the hospital buildings and showed me the most AMAZING spring flowering fruit tree. The biggest blossom fruit tree we had ever seen and it was in full blossom that evening. I was very fortunate. Pahiatua ( means 'vessel of the gods') is a quiet little town, but with happy characters I could tell from my cheerful visit to the supermarket. The Kitchen had everything I needed and the bed super comfy and relaxing. I wish Cathy and her family well in their endeavours. I may even call by when their famous Christmas decorations are up and on show.

Wen ***** 16th - 18th August, 2018

The room was very clean and tidy, really nice staying there.

Kathleen ***** 26th June - 9th August, 2018

I was doing a 7 week placement at the local medical centre and due to other reasons, ended up needing somewhere to stay last minute. I turned up on their doorstep the day I arrived in town to beg at least a nights accommodation and they were amazing and able to not only sort me out for the night, but fit me in for the entire time!
Lovely hosts providing clean & warm accommodation with excellent facilities. Highly recommend!

Craig ***** 3 August, 2018

Easy to find, great service and value. Would definitely stay again.

Anthea ***** 30th July, 2018

Well worth the stay

Keith. ***** 9th -10th July, 2018

I only stayed one night but it was very comfortable and the owners welcomed me as if I were staying for a week. My room was warmed up and everything. It would be a great place for a big family reunion the ward I stayed in had heaps of rooms but I had it all to myself. one more note, all the floors have carpet which takes the edge off the hospital feel. Its so cool that a place like this is being used and not wasting away. Worth a stay! 

John. ***** 16th - 17th June, 2018

Cathy and Andy are fantastic hosts. Sleeping in an old hospital isn't something that happens everyday and I had the whole ward to myself. They even have a conference room and I was lucky enough to watch a rugby test there, much better than the noisy pub down the road. The room was well heated. Its a great venue so check it out.

Josie. ***** 14th - 15th June, 2018

Unique ex hospital environment. I had the whole ward to myself . thanks guys. enjoyed my stay.

Carlo. ***** 13th - 14th June, 2018

It's a beautifully done up place with generous rooms and good facilities - all you need plus nice country vistas

Rachel. ***** 28th - 29th April, 2018

What a cool place to stay, would be great with a large party of people. Loved the novelty of staying in an old hospital. Great hosts who even helped us get from A to B. Thank you.

Silvana. ***** 19th - 20th April, 2018

This place is a must for all the ones who liked to be brought back in time. Great idea to change a hospital into a hostel. Still lot's of things to see, which where used then. Although very close to the SH2; it's very quiet. I definitive would stay there again.

Jean. ***** 9th - 10th April, 2018

We had an excellent stay in Pahiatua, the shops are walking distance and the bed most comfortable. It would be a great place for groups to stay too. As it was, we had the whole ward to ourselves.

Gordon. ***** 15th - 18th March, 2018

Words are not enough to describe this place. Clean comfortable and everything would hope of somewhere to rest you head, without doubt. But, more than that Cathy & Andy are dedicated to what they do as hosts. The whole experience of staying there, not the least being in such a wonderful building, has to be seen to be believed. The “feel” of this beautifully maintained old hospital, that is Masters Hall, is that the Doctors & Nurses that worked there are still watching over it. Certainly a calming and healing place for me, an oasis of tranquillity during my overall hectic New Zealund trip.

Ian Moir. ***** 10th March (guests from 3rd - 9th Feb, 2018)

An amazing venue and lovely accommodating hosts. We will definitely be back!

Isabelle Gauthier. ***** 3rd - 4th March, 2018

Fun place to stay at. Very spacious facilities/room. We had a fun time with the kids, staying in the maternity delivery room! All the privacy you need! Great host who gave us all the history of the place we stayed at and allowed us to check in and check out late :-)

Mike. **** 2nd - 3rd March, 2018

Great quirky accommodation...how often do you get to sleep in what used to be the birthing suite in a old hospital? Fantastic secluded location with huge grounds and many different sleeping options from bunk rooms, to private rooms, to family rooms. Lots of space.

Laura. ***** 22nd - 23rd February, 2018

This is a very special accommodation and a perfect New Zealand experience! I loved my stay there and I would definitely stay there again!

 

Corina. ***** 19th - 20th February, 2018

Een bijzondere locatie een oud ziekenhuis waar je de sfeer van de jaren 60 nog proeft. Wij mochten verblijven in de vleugel van de zusters. De voorzieningen van keuken en wc zouden beperkt zijn als het vol zat, maar wij hadden de vleugel voor ons zelf. Een oase van rust. Midden in een stadje. Thanks for having us. We loved your place.

Caitlyn. ***** 15th - 16th February, 2018

One of the great things about AirBnB is staying in some unique places. This is exactly what it sounds like- you are staying in an old-fashioned hospital, complete with a patient's lounge and nursing station! We had a whole ward for two of us so loads of space to knock around in, and all the facilities of home (or hospital...). You might be sharing with others depending on who has booked.

Gordon. ***** 7th - 8th December, 2017

I signed up for Air B&B some time ago as the idea of staying in quirky and unusual accommodation appealed to me. This was the first time I used Air B&B as I found myself in the area with the need a last minute bed for the night. I found the online booking system a little confusing but Cathys prompt replies made the process less intimidating. When I arrived I found the place very easily as it is near to a main highway and is well know in the area. Andy made me most welcome and could not do enough for me to settle in, explaining not only the essential information needed but all about the history of this amazing old hospital complex. The room I stayed in was in the former nurses block, it was light and airy with access to all the facilities need for a comfortable stay. Clean, quiet and relaxing it was just what I needed to set me up for the next day. I had to leave in the morning but with some regret as I would have loved to explore the magnificent setting with its mature trees and sweet little town just a short walk away. I can’t praise this place enough, the hosts, the room, the location and everything about my experience there was much more than I could ever expected.

Arjun. ***** 1st - 2nd December, 2017

It was a great place, nice and quiet. Hosts are very friendly

Jenny. **** 14th - 15th November, 2017

Very good value accommodation in a quiet location.

Nicola Jenkins. ***** 1st October, 2017

Stayed here for a few nights and it was wonderful! Great hosts, fantastic facilities

Kevin. ***** 10th - 15th September, 2017

This place is great

Kevin. ***** 26th - 31st August, 2017

Highly recommended great location, cosy, comfortable and friendly

Kevin. ***** 20th - 23rd August, 2017

Highly recommend lots to do a really good base to work from, very helpful and great hosts

Mike. ***** 13th - 14th August, 2017

Real value for money and would be great for larger groups too.

Robert. ***** 26th - 27th July, 2017

Awesomeness

Cheuk. ***** 18th - 19th June, 2017

It is very interesting to stay at this unique style accommodation for night. The place is clean and quiet. Thanks.

Travis Wells-Lakeland. ***** 21st May, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. The host are just fantastic! They gave us everything we needed and went well out of their way to make us feel at home, finding a great balance between socialising and providing us privacy. We especially liked the peacefulness of the location as a getaway from the city.

Samantha Burn Hatakeyama. ***** 21 May, 2017

A naturally beautiful, quiet and peaceful location with wonderful, warm, and friendly hosts. A very comfortable and cosy stay enriched with a sense of intriguing history. Would highly recommend, especially to get away from the "busyness".